Posted by: Ryan | July 24, 2007

Harrington Wins British Open

Harrington

Ireland’s Padraig Harrington captured the Claret Jug on Sunday in a 4-hole playoff over Sergio Garcia. I was glad to see Harrington pull out the win after double bogeying the 18th hole in regulation play, avoiding a Van de Veldeian moment. Harrington is as humble as they come and he is well deserving of golf’s oldest championship.

On the other hand Sergio always seems to offer up excuses as to why things never seem to go his way.

“It’s tough, mainly because I don’t feel like I did do anything wrong,” Garcia said. “I didn’t miss a shot in the playoff and hit unbelievable putts. But they just didn’t go in. I don’t know how I manage to do these things. It seems to me like every time I get in this kind of position, I have no room for error. … And I rarely get many good breaks. The birdie I made on No. 3, I made out of a divot in the fairway … and then I had putts … they all touched the hole.”

Hey Sergio.. I believe what you’re referring to is the game of golf. lol. Maybe he was just a little upset and disappointed after coming second but I thought his comments were a bit ridiculous.


Leave a comment

Categories