Posted by: Ryan | July 31, 2007

Starbury Has Lost His Mind

In early July Stephon Marbury appeared on a show called Mike’d Up, and gave a rather strange interview, it’s by far the funniest thing I’ve seen in awhile. I’ve highlighted below the classic quotes/moments.

•”I’m gonna average like 10 points, 12-13 dimes and two to three assists,”

• While talking about his desire to be like the Dallas Mavericks he said, “We always wanna win the trophy. We call that the shiney stuff…I shoot to win because I shoot to win. And that’s it.”

• In the middle of the interview his cell phone rang, and then reported, “That’s my better half, my better ho…my better half, my wife.”

• In reference to his charity shopping spree, Marbury explained, “I can’t teach all of the kids so I have to give the teachers the tools that need to be able to help the little kids. I can’t give them what they need if they ain’t got it.”

• On his relationship with his family: “My sister Stephanie, that’s my namesake, that’s what she is to me…that’s my daughter name…she been praying for this forever and it finally happened yesterday when I kissed her, I felt her body and I felt her soul. I was delighted to be kissing her. I couldn’t even cry because I knew they were gonna be happy tears so I was able to control them. You know, you really cry when you really bad stuff.”

• Towards the end of the interview Marbury refused to answer questions regarding the Knicks. “I don’t get no time to think…you’re not doing that…I’m not doing that…give me ten more minutes and I do with you.”

•”I think people forget, you’ve got guys like Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Charles Barkley — these guys never won championships but they had great careers,” Marbury said. “Their careers get glorified for things that I did already.”


.


Responses

  1. I think he’s just slow.


Leave a comment

Categories